Oswestry & Border History & Archaeology Group
OBHAG Programme 2016

This page provides a simple print version of OBHAG lectures and visits for 2016. Meetings to be held at the Memorial Hall, Oswestry, at 7.30pm unless otherwise stated.

For more detail please view the Website www.pastcaring.com/obhag


2016 Programme

Friday 8th January 7-30pm
Hidden Houses: 'often the structures of the past are their builders' only memorial'
Simon Simcox, author and ancient house historian
Friday 12th February 7-30pm
Monastic Military Orders
Roger Cooper, Oswestry Castle Research Project
Friday 11th March - AGM
Annual General Meeting and Presidential Lecture - 'Historians of Oswestry'
John Pryce Jones, local historian and author
Friday 8th April - 7-30pm
'Digging for Britain' Outstanding archaeology as featured in the recent BBC 4 programmes
Matt Williams, Series presenter
Friday 13th May - Evening visit
Ceiriog Memorial Institute & Ceiriog Valley Museum<br> (Meet outside the Glyn Valley Hotel, Glyn Ceiriog at 7.00pm)
Friday 10th June - Evening Visit
Strata Marcella with Richard Hankinson from Clwyd Powys Archaeological Trust
(Meet at St John’s Church, Pool Quay car park at 7.00pm)
Saturday 9th July - All Day Visit to Rhuddlan
Rhuddlan Castle Flintshire which was begun in 1277 and the adjacent motte and bailey built in 1073
With Roger Cooper & Justin Soper
(Coach from Oak Street Car Park. Details of time & tickets nearer the date)
Friday 9th September 7-30pm
'Killed the Boar, Shaved his Head'; the Violent Death of Richard III
Robert Woosnam-Savage, Royal Armouries Museum
Friday 14th October 7-30pm
'Assessing historic landscapes of the Welsh borderlands through estate maps'
Bob Silvester, CPAT
Friday 11th November - 7-30pm
Understanding Hillforts
Shelagh Hampton CBA West Midlands
Friday 9th December - 7-30pm
Members evening including 'Two Oxen and a Heriot'
Mrs Marion Loveridge's research into inventories documenting the history of dairying in North Shropshire