Oswestry & Border History & Archaeology Group
OBHAG Programme 2018

This page provides a simple print version of OBHAG lectures and visits for 2018.

The meetings to be held at the Methodist Church Hall, Castle Street, Oswestry

All meetings at 7.30pm unless otherwise stated.

There is nearby parking on the Horsemarket and Oak Street Car Parks. There is also limited parking outside the hall on Castle Street but please leave this free for those members with mobility problems.

For more detail please view the Website oswestry.histarch.uk


2018 Programme

Friday 12th January 7-30pm - "Llanwddyn before Lake Vyrnwy"
Alwyn Hughes, author and collector
Friday 25th January - OBHAG 40th Anniversary Dinner
Friday 9th February 7-30pm - Oswestry Heritage Comics: a new approach to
public outreach for local archaeology, history and heritage
John Swogger, archaeologist and illustrator
Friday 9th March - OBHAG AGM & talk
A review of Recent Archaeological Investigations in Shropshire
Andy Wigley, Shropshire Historic Environment Manager
Friday 13th April - 7-30pm "The Norman Castle at Oswestry and its implications"
Roger Cooper, archaeologist and Director, Oswestry Castle Research Project
Friday 11th May - Evening Visit - Pennant Melangell Church and Shrine
Guided tour. Meet at the church at 7.00pm
Friday 8th June - Evening Visit - Quinta Chapel and Sunday School.
Visit and talk on the cotton mill owner and philanthropist Thomas Barnes
Rev Digby James. Meet at the chapel at 7.00pm
Saturday 14th July - Full Day Visit to Hereford
Including the Norman Church at Kilpeck and guided tours of Cathedral
and Mappa Mundi exhibition

Coach from Oak Street Car Park. 8.00am Returns 6.30pm
Provisional ticket price £25 Optional Pub Lunch

Friday 14th September 7-30pm - "Neolithic, Bronze Age and Iron Age sites in the Tanat Valley"
Bill Britnell, Research Associate at the Clwyd- Powys Archaeological Trust (CPAT)
Friday 12th October 7-30pm - "Graveyard Graffiti in North East Wales"
Tom Lerwill
Friday 9th November - 7-30pm "A History of Shropshire in Maps"
Nick Millea, Bodleian Library Maps - Librarian
Friday 7th December - 7-30pm "Treasure beneath your feet"
Wrexham Heritage Society